Just another day at track practice

This one’s really quick but I wanted to get this out since it happened pretty recently 🙂 A few months ago, I joined my school’s track team and I currently do pole vault and long/triple jumps. For those of you that don’t know what they are, here’s a quick video.

Obviously, these guys are really good and I’m nowhere close but track & field is a really interesting sport. Unlike tennis or soccer where you go against the other teams, track is a sport in which you face your past self and try to beat your past scores/times.

Anyways, just the other day during track practice, my pole vault coach told me and a couple other kids from pole vault to go join the sprinters and do running training with them. So, we ran over to join the runners in their workouts.

At this point, one of my pole vault friend was complaining. “He sent us with the runners because there were too many people vaulting and we suck the most out of all of them,” she said. “I don’t like [the pole vault coach]. He favors students.” Her remark completely took me by surprise because I never thought about it like that. Of course, I knew that we weren’t the best vaulters on the team. And she’s right, maybe he didn’t have enough room to coach all of us so he sent us with the runners. But to complain like that when you’re lacking skill and there’s way more room for improvement is incomprehensible.

It’s really simple. Coaches want the best players and if you suck, you’re not needed for the team. You have a couple choices here: a.) complain about every possible thing you can name and blame your poor skills on others, b.) work your butt off until you get to where you wanted to be, or c.) just have fun regardless of whether you can play or not.

Basically, just don’t complain. When I look around me whether I’m in tennis, track, tae kwon do, or any sports—the people who work hard are never on bench. I’ve never seen anyone that worked hard and their effort wasn’t rewarded in some kind of way. The difference in mentality between people will lead people to completely opposite directions one day. If you suck at a sport, if you’re failing in school, if you’re not doing so hot with your friends or family—take it all in, admit that you have some room for improvement, and work hard if it’s something you really care about.

Have a nice night!

 

3 thoughts on “Just another day at track practice

  1. I guess it all comes down to attitude and how you response to something. In all honesty, I think many people speak out in anger, because sometimes talent does beat hard work. Talent may not result in friendly people, but it does affect how others act towards that person. And, I think many people let their jealousy or anger affect their response. Everyone strives to be somewhere in life and sometimes we just want a shortcut or easy way. And I have to contradict you at one point. There are people that I have seen who try so hard and actually are not the most accomplished. They study their butt off and yet they are score less on a test than the kid who did study five minutes before. Even though it’s not sports, it is something that can result in complaints. I remember one day I asked someone else what they had in a class, and they yelled at me for thinking I was better than them and was going to judge them; of course, I won’t do that to someone else because I’ve had low grades before. In reality, I just wanted to know if their grade was affecting their hatred for the class and constant complaining of its difficulty. I have to admit that I am at fault to this from time to time. And I agree with you in the sense it is our own fault that we don’t recognize that we either have to change or move on. Stellar post! I agree with you hands down!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, you’re right, talent does sometimes beat hard work. Still, if you look at an overview of maybe 10 or even 20 years later, hard work does show definitely. It’s a matter of: are you willing to take the risk and strive to reach that finish line that stands so far you can’t even see?

      Like

  2. Reblogged this on JUMP START THE MOON and commented:
    We complain about things in our lives because we are mad. Mad that something has happened in a way that we don’t like, didn’t expect, can’t change. It’s impossible to live a mapped life, because we are all ships on a vast expansion of water. We can neither see beyond the horizon or see deep beneath the surface of the water. We are explorers. We are scared of what may come to us, at us. But we have to realize that good things can come. Maybe an island of paradise. Maybe a sea port to stock up on food. Maybe a chance to change the world. Your world. Your mind. To all you people who have complained about something in your life . . . this is for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

