Art of listening

Christmas is coming up really soon, and my heart gets warmer and warmer as each day counts down to the 25th. Small things make me happy and it cancels out the depressing factor of school. (Just one more week, you got this!)

In my English class, our teacher wanted us to notice the small things in our everyday life and take quick notes on them. And I did notice few things: my chemistry teacher having no makeup on Monday (and her makeup is always on point), students being exceptionally happy and joyful on Fridays, or the sky looking like a painting with the gray touch of the brush being the clouds.

12387868_950954151663810_927042878_n

Taking a morning walk and noticing that the sky is a giant painting.

This activity to notice things that others wouldn’t notice coincided with the book I am currently reading, “The Amazing Results of Positive Thinking” by Norman Vincent Peale. In one section of the book, Peale talks about the “art of listening.”

“Most of us tend to talk too much when people come to us with a       problem.We try to give advice, whereas more often the thing that is needed is silence and the ability to transmit to the other person the sense of patient, understanding love.” 

After reading this, I realized that sometimes, just simply listening to the world around you and your friends is like killing two birds with a stone. It lets you think about or notice things you’ve never even thought about and it’s also an act of giving to others. So I tried this “art of listening” for a while and noticed some interesting things.

One, I noticed that 90% of the time, most high school students around me were “done with school,” and complained about their teachers, grades, homework, and tests ALL the time. From what I noticed, it’s not really a conversation where two people actually listen to each other and play catch with words.

“I have a B in precalculus honors. My mom’s gonna kill me.” “I’m so done with school. I’m dying. My grades are slowly dying.”

Complaining, complaining, complaining–

These “conversations” went on for a while and it was to the point where friends didn’t even care about what the other said. To me, who was listening to and observing this conversation, this was interesting how miserable students were about school when Christmas is just around the corner.

200_s

Two, I perceived that people like talking to others who actually listen and care about you. Having someone in your life who has room to hear you out and encourage you is delightful. I hope one day, people come to realize that school isn’t everything and if it’s making them miserable, maybe it’s not something that’ll be important in life ten years later.

Is it worth it to be so stressed out over a B in AP European History when you know that after five years, you’ll forget the details of the French Revolution? Are all the advanced classes that’s making you unhappy and degrading your health worth it in ten years?

Dr. Peale said that people tend to think only little thoughts about everything: about ourselves, our grades, our life, our happiness.

“Nurture your mind with great thoughts for you will never go any higher than you think. Think big.” -Norman Vincent Peale

I truly hope you to have a great holiday and have lots and lots of positive thinking.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Art of listening

  1. I agree with you about it being not worthwhile to stress about school because in the future, you’re going to forget everything. Someone told me once that 99.9% of college students are satisfied with the college they are attending no matter where it is. Just live life! Oppaaaaa aishiteru ❤

    Like

  2. I love how you mentioned that having someone who listens to you can make you happy. For me at least, I know that having meaningful conversations makes my day memorable. Without them, it just feels like each day runs into the next. I never really realized how many meaningless conversations I tend to have. This really opened my eyes and made me wonder if they are only making me more stressed out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

