Beginning of a Short Journey

Hello! I’m moreofatortoise 🙂 I got my name from the fable The Tortoise and the Hare. I decided to start a blog and share my experiences with you. Enjoy!

Everyone talks about time management. There are many books about it and although this seems cliche, I’ll be writing about my personal experiences with my inability to control time. Most people don’t understand this. We all want to get out of the bad habit in our lives. We all think, “I’ll do that later,” or “I’ll start tomorrow.” And the truth is, they never do!

Here is my personal experience: Everyday, I don’t get home until 9:30-10:00pm due to tennis and tae kwon do practice/teaching. When I get home, sometimes up to 8 hours of homework awaits me and I’m exhausted. I tell myself, “You can do this. You’re going to shower, make tea, and finish homework.”  After going through all the social media and wasting time, I lie down on my bed and decide to close my eyes just for 3 minutes. When I wake up, it’s 5am and there’s only 1 and a half hours left until 0 period. There’s no way I can finish all my homework and study for a test on time. If only I didn’t lay down on the bed, this wouldn’t be a problem. Ironically, this happened almost every day and it’s not easy to fix a habit, especially a bad one.

good_vs_bad_habits_online

Here’s the good news: I’ve recently found a new way to fix this habit and save time that I used to waste!

This’s how:

12087589_922990731126819_1676348209_n

The numbers on the right indicate an estimate of the time it takes to complete that assignment/task. For example, I wanted to study for a vocabulary test for 10 minutes. By knowing that I’ll finish that task in 10 minutes, I can easily find space in my schedule to study just for 10 minutes–in the car, during lunch, etc. This is a great way to manage your schedule especially if it’s a crazy one!

“Time is money.” -Benjamin Franklin

time-is-money

Another thing I was amazed this week happened right in the middle of lunch. I was waiting in a really long lunch line when I saw a guy with a bunch of other footballers. Here is the conversation between them:

Footballer #1: Hey dude, just cut to the front of the line. No one’s gonna know

Guy: I don’t know, man. There’s a lot of people.

Footballer #2: Just go! Are you scared?

Guy: Okay, fine.

Surprisingly, he went to the front of the line and bragged like it was a heroic act! When I heard/saw this, I thought that this was how people turn into criminals. It starts with peer pressure from friends on small things, like here, cutting in line. Then, as people get used to doing wrong, small things, they get bored and move onto bigger “challenges,” such as murdering someone, robbing, and so on.

This event reminded me of a discussion in English class. We were reading Antigone by Sophocles, and in the book, Antigone says,

“The dead man and the gods who rule the dead know whose act this was. Words are not friends.”

Basically, do what’s right. Do what YOU think is right, not what others think is right. If your friends, pressure you, understand that they are most likely wrong, and you have no reason to follow their word. If everyone on earth did what is right, would our society still be full of crimes?

GIF-No-No-Way-Never-Not-Gonna-Happen-Nah-Nope-GIF

Leave a Reply

